A journey to discover Indian food: My beginning

As a foodaholic I love food all over the world from Italian, French, Mexican to Korean and Japanese and now I am truly addicted to Indian food after give it a try half year ago. My first feeling was so confusing and a little bit strange just like the feeling of my dad in his first time trying durian; crazy and didn’t know how to describe. But finally I love it like my dad love Durian now. My Indian food journey have just started and there are thousand things for me to learn and discover.

My first impression in Indian cuisine is it’s spices, so many spices and too colourful as well. From whole – spices to ground one and with different roasted methods will make spices have different flavour which is the same with coffee bean. Now I got use to with cardamom pods, nutmeg, corriander seed, cumin seed, mustard seed and they are just a small part in the long interesting stories about Indian spices that I am on the way to discover them bit by bit everyday.

In this post I will show you my very first collection of Indian food which I took for my boyfriend’s restaurant. I was inspired day by day with such aromatic dishes and amazing stories inside, with juicy lamp curry and super delicious butter garlic nan bread. An Indian food blogger told me yesterday that discovering new cuisine like visiting new country, you will be surprised and interested in everything. It’s so true. The first thing I look for when I want to travel or know more information about a new nation is their cuisine. With me, cuisine associates closely and reflects culture and history in a country. It helps people connect together, it saves history and also is symbol of a nation. Let’s my journey in Indian cuisine as well as Indian culture start from here, I am sure there will have many interested stories that I will learn and explore everyday t the second largest population nation in the world ❤

Let’s begin…

Poppadom - the most popular snack in Indian. It is quite similar with Prawn cracker in Chinese and Vietnamese cuisin but instead of serving with sweet and sour chilli sauce, poppadom is severed with a wide ranges of Indian chutney.
Poppadom – the most popular snack in Indian. It is quite similar with Prawn cracker in Chinese and Vietnamese cuisine but instead of serving with sweet and sour chilli sauce, poppadom is severed with a wide ranges of Indian chutney.
Vegetable samosa - The most famous Indian food
Vegetable samosa – The most famous Indian food
Different kinds of Indian curry with corriander nan bread on the side
Different kinds of Indian curry with corriander nan bread on the side
Lamp chop in saffron sauce
Lamp chop in saffron sauce

Sharing is caring!

Pumpki ❤

Leave a Reply

