Marrakech – The Imperial City Part 1: My first impression

I got a trip to Marrakech last year to run away from the cold in England and find sunshine. Marrakech is a great place for anykind of travelers, from those who love discovering and exploring to those who just want to enjoy the sun and relax. With just only 4 hours by aeroplane from manchester airport, Marrakech is a great place for European people especially those from the North instead of a long flight to South East Asia which is also amazing place to enjoy the sun and tropical fruits.

Welcome to Marrakech, Morroco. Welcome to sunshine <3
Welcome to Marrakech, Morroco. Welcome to sunshine!!!!!!!!!

Marrakech welcomed me with full of sunshine, wind and high blue sky. Amazing weather made me feel so fresh even I did not sleep all night along the way from England. Marrakech airport is very close to the city, just took me about 15 to 20 minutes by car to my booked riad (A special kind of hotel in Marrakech).

“A riad (Arabic: رياض‎) is a traditional Moroccan house or palace with an interior garden or courtyard. The word riad comes from the Arabian term for garden, “ryad” – Wikipedia

Riad is my first recommendation for people who are into culture, history, nature and exploring like me. I don’t like staying in a modern hotel which I can find anywhere in the world no matter it is England, Vietnam, Thailand or other countries. Another reason is Riad is very cheap comparing to other hotels in Morroco. My Riad is located quite close to the old quater, just took me 5 minutes walk to Djemaa El-Fna – a square and market place in Marrakech’s medina quater. My first impression of the Riad is they had only 1 staff who do everything from meet and greet customer, prepare breakfast to do laundry. During my 4 days in Marrakech I just used body language because that guy could not speak English well, which is also an interesting experience when we could understand together so good!!. That Riad is quite small, it has just 8 rooms which are very open because I could hear sound from a hair drier of another girl who also stayed in there. :)). Room looks quite good because I spent most of my time outside to discover the city then I just chose a normal one to sleep at night.

A typical Riad in Morroco. From Google image
A typical Riad in Morroco. My riad looks quite similar with this one but less beautiful a bit.  Image from Google
An overview of Marrakech from the roof top in my riad. Looks stunning!!
An overview of Marrakech from the roof top in my riad. Looks stunning!!
The roof top in my Riad
The roof top in my Riad

Everything in Riad sastisfied me because I had such an amazing experience. I had Morrocan breakfast every morning, mainly are Morrocan bread served with jam and soft cheese, orange juice and sometime tea with milk. Actually quite much starch but I didn’t care much about what I eat when I travel because it’s travel time!!!

IMG_7851

The way I used to go to Djemaa - El Fna, very historical and a bit dangerous for girl in night
The way I used to go to Djemaa – El Fna, very historical and a bit dangerous for girl in night
Typical corner of Morroco which you can find in anywhere
Typical corner of Morroco which you can find in anywhere

There are too many herb shops in there and people sometime too overwelcoming in selling their products, especially in Djemaa – El Fna quater I will talk in Part 2. I found out some herb shops along the way to the old quater, they are basically Morrocan traditional herbs and looked very beautiful with so many color. But I am sure that kinds of product just for tourists because the Old quater just for poor people, tourist so my advice is just look at it, shouldn’t buy it eventhough it looks quite attractive and they will give you many magical benefits of their products.

A corner in Morrocan herb shop
A corner in Morrocan herb shop
Dry Flowers
Dry Flowers

That’s is my first impression of Marrakech, a city of lengends with rich history and culture. I will spend whole part 2 to write about the Djemaa – El Fna quater with amazing Tagine, night market with lots lots of street food, fresh fruit juice, traditional mint tea, Olive garden and unforgetable memory in Ourika valley. ❤

Sharing is caring!

Pumpki ❤

Leave a Reply

