Spicy Roasted Sweet Potatoes

Like everyone I love chips. I used to eat chips when I was in high school, at that time I did not have any knowledge about healthy food, I just ate things I love and did not care my body much. Eating healthy for half year have made a big change in my body. I still love chips but now my body doesn’t. I always feel tired, sleepy and less power everytime I have chips (I mean big portion, one or two pieces cannot affect me much) then I think better find another healthy food but similar to chips and I found out sweet potatoes.

DSC_3571

Sweet potatoes are seen as at the top of everyone’s healthy food lists and they are very popular in Vietnam. Sweet potatoes are rich in vitamin A, vitamin C, some calcium, potassium, iron and fibre. wow, such an healthy food and versatile as well. They can be roasted, mashed, pureed, steamed (Vietnamese tradditional way in cooking sweet potatoes), stewed, grilled or can be added to salad or cakes.

In England there are mainly two types of sweet potatoes, one with orange flesh and the other with cream flesh. However, in Vietnam we have one with yeallow flesh, one with cream flesh and one with purple flesh. I used to use purple sweet potatoes (Which originally from Japan) in baking because they provide super naturally colour to my cakes without adding any food colouring. Sweet potatoes are very cheap in Vietnam, just around 30 pence per 1 kg but in England it’s so expensive (actually everything is expensive in this country).

DSC_3552

Eventhough it is May now, the weather in England is still cold then a warm and spicy food is needed to warm my body up then I decided to bake a spicy and warm roasted sweet potato wedges which is a combination of sweet potatoes, ground cinamon and cayenne pepper. Adding ground cinamon and cayenne pepper powder (or smoked paprika) really take this dish to a new level, it makes sweet potatoes not only look more colorful but also much tastier with a warm and aromatic taste from ground cinamon and spicy from cayenne peper.

If you cannot eat spicy you can reduce or remove cayenne pepper, this dish still tastes so good.

The ingredients are very simpe and  just need prepare it in 10 minutes and put it in the oven and bake round 40 minutes then you will have a healthy food that you can eat at anytime, add it into your salad or can eat it like a snack.

Ingredients:

– 1 sweet potatoe

– 1 tbsp olive oil

– 1 tsp ground cinamon

– 1 tsp cayenne peper powder

– 1 tsp salt

– 1 tsp mixed herbs

DSC_3513

Directions:

– Preheat the oven to 180 degree celcious

– Wash sweet potato clean, do not peel, and slice them into wedges.

–  Put sweet potatoes wedge into a bowl, add dry ingredients, and drizzle olive oil and mix well until the sweet potatoes coverd by seasoning well..

cats

– Brush baking tray with olive oil or place a baking sheet then put spread sweet potatoes out in an even layer onto the tray.

DSC_3555

– Place the tray to the oven and bake them about 40 minutes. Stiring once or twice then bake until sweet potatoes have a cripsy outside and soft and fluffy inside. Serve hot.

DSC_3561

Enjoy!

Sharing is caring!

Pumpki ❤

Leave a Reply

